top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Seasons Change

I'm not a fan of cold weather. Living in Tennessee allows me to enjoy warm weather most of the year. Who doesn't love jumping in the creek on a hot summer day or sitting under the stars enjoying the warm breeze? Summertime is my favorite time of the year. Sure, I get hot like the next person but I love my shorts, tank tops, and flip flops. Our weather seems to be on my side here lately. It's almost the end of September and today is scheduled to be a mid-90's day. It will be clear, breezy, and beautiful. I can't wait. This morning however, has been a different story. Hearing the weather last night, I never imagined I'd wake up shivering. I found it to be a whopping 62 degrees, not even that bad, right? Apparently, when you aren't ready to face the chill it hits you harder! I'm usually out of bed by 5:30 a.m. to be sitting at the computer, coffee in hand, and writing by 6 a.m. Not today! Nope, I found myself snuggled under the covers, cuddled with my hubby, Daniel, and one of the pooches. I didn't want to move! It was my first indication that no matter how much I hate to see summer go, fall is on its way.

I have no issues with fall weather. It's beautiful in these mountains during this time of year. The leaves change, the air is crisp, the fall decor is gorgeous. I mean, what's not to love. Winter is the beast I don't enjoy. The sad part is, I absolutely adore Halloween, yet every year I wish it could hold off a little longer. I'm a huge horror movie fan so Halloween is the perfect time to catch classic movies I've seen a thousand times, introduce my budding 13 year old horror fan to the beauties of my childhood, and of course, decorate the house for the trick-or-treaters we never get. Halloween is also a great time in the book world. This October has me releasing two solo ventures, a couple anthologies, and one hilarious co-write. All Spooktober themed! It looks to be a great month. The only downside is, I know what follows. I don't want freezing mornings, and chances of snow. I don't want to drive the mountain roads heading to work when they are slick and treacherous. I don't want to bundle up in clothes. No, I want it to stay fall all winter long. I want to fight back for my shorts and flip flops. Is that too much to ask? I suppose it is, and it also appears that I'm in the minority.

Opening Facebook this morning, the first thing I saw was a post by a local girl I've known most of my life. I don't remember the exact wording to it but it was a rant about the warm weather. She's over it. She wants hoodie weather. She wants to see snow on the mountains, yada yada. Several locals have been making these kinds of posts lately. The thing is, it's the same people who complain in February that they are over the cold, hate winter, and want summer to get here. Really? Shall I show your old memes and posts to you? At least I'm consistent. I'll tell anyone who asks I could handle 70 to 80 degree temps all year long. My opinion doesn't matter, but I have it and I stick to it. There's nothing I can do to stop the fact seasons change. I'm most likely the only person in my little mountain town who would prefer cooking on Christmas day with the A/C blaring. I don't want to face cranking my car to let it warm up before taking Amber to school. I'm definitely not ready for flu season (stay back Satan)! And I truly believe snow is overrated. Maybe I'm strange. Well, I know am I. My weather preferences just fuel the fire I suppose. In closing, I want to say welcome to any temperature above 50 degrees. Stay away snow. And most importantly, to yucky, dangerous, cold ice, I hate you with a passion. To all those who hate to see the warmth go, you aren't alone. I'm right here with you!

**On a side note I will admit one advantage the colder weather offers. All these damn bugs will perish for a few months!!

Seasons Change

bottom of page